Audrey Elaine Nelson

Audrey Elaine Nelson

Title: Nursing Educator
Company: University of Nebraska Medical Center
Location: Omaha, Nebraska, United States

Audrey Elaine Nelson, PhD, RN, Nursing Educator at the University of Nebraska Medical Center, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Nurses for dedication, achievements, and leadership in nursing.

In her youth, each time Dr. Nelson visited her father and brother in the hospital she always had an uplifting encounter with a nurse. She would then return home and play nurse with her dolls. Fast forward to the present day, Dr. Nelson is a distinguished nurse backed by nearly 50 years of professional experience. She received a BSN in science and nursing from the University of Nebraska Medical Center in 1972, an MSN from the University of Wisconsin in 1974, and a PhD in nursing from the University of North Carolina in 1994. She also went on to complete post-doctorate studies with Pamela Hinds, supported by the Oncology Nursing Foundation and Ortho Biotech Research Fellowship from 1997 to 2003.

A certified RN, Dr. Nelson commenced her career as a staff nurse at York General Hospital in 1972. Since 1974, she has been with the University of Nebraska College of Nursing in numerous positions, currently serving as an associate professor since 1998. In 2018, the college granted her the Heritage Award and Distinguished Team Award, and in 2016 she was the recipient of the Outstanding Professional Excellence and Dedication Award and the 40-Year Service Award. Dr. Nelson is a member of the American Nurses Association, National Council on Family Relations, Association of Pediatric Oncology Nurses, Society of Pediatric Nursing Association, Oncology Nursing Society, and the Nebraska Nurses Association. Looking back on her career, she is most proud of her emotional service to mothers whose children underwent stem cell transplants, as she believes being a pillar of support in the medical world is just as necessary as great scientific expertise. Dr. Nelson and her career accomplishments can also be found in the fifth edition of Who’s Who in American Nursing, the 15th and 16th editions of Who’s Who of American, and the first edition of Who’s Who of Emerging Leaders in America.

For more information, please visit:

Press Release

Contact Dr. Nelson:

Leave a Reply