Leslie K. Robbins, PhD, APRN, PMHNP-BC, PMHCNS-BC

Title: Associate Professor, Assistant Dean, Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner, Psychiatric Clinical Nurse Specialist
Company: School of Nursing, The University of Texas at El Paso
El Paso, Texas, United States

Leslie K. Robbins, Associate Professor, Assistant Dean, Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner, and Psychiatric Clinical Nurse Specialist, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Nurses for dedication, achievements, and leadership in Psychiatry and Academia.

Dr. Robbins has held the role of assistant dean of the University of Texas at El Paso since 2009, and has worked in the field of nursing from the emergency room to the therapy couch. She started her nursing career inspired by faculty members who had doctorates, and was later fascinated by the psychiatric field, as well as teaching and academia. Dr. Robbins has been proud of developing an online psychiatric nurse practitioner program at New Mexico State University, as well as watching students matriculate and offer excellent care in their communities. She has been with the University of Texas at El Paso since then, and now fosters PhD students.

A recipient of the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award, Dr. Robbins has been featured in two volumes of Who’s Who in America. She received an associate’s degree in nursing from Garland County Community College, and earned a BSN from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine as well as a MSN from the University of Texas at El Paso. In 1995, she became a nursing faculty member of El Paso Community College, and went on to hold several posts with the Doña Ana Community College, the University of Phoenix, and New Mexico State University before arriving at her current position. Notably, Dr. Robbins received an Endowed Professorship Award from the J. Edward & Helen M.C. Stern Foundation from 2011 to 2014.

Dr. Robbins is a fellow of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners and the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, as well as the Orville Edward Egbert M.O. Chair at the University of Texas at El Paso since 2014. She also holds a 2013 Nursing Excellence Award from the El Paso Visiting Nurses Association. Among numerous society activities, Dr. Robbins was recently the chair of the research and scholarship committee of the Sigma Theta Tau nursing honor society from 2008 to 2010, and chair of the advanced practice committee of the American Psychiatric Nursing Association from 2008 to 2009.

Contact Dr. Robbins

Leave a Reply